Sirkku Peltola, Kaija Saariaho and Roi Vaara are the new art academics

President Sauli Niinistö awarded the titles on Thursday.

Three distinguished Finnish artist receives the title of academician of art. President Sauli Niinistö granted the title of academician on Thursday by the dramaturg Sirkku for Peltolacomposer For Kaija Saariaho and performance artist For Roi Vaara.

The artists will receive the title at a celebration event in Helsinki in March.

There can be 11 academicians of art at the same time. The title is lifelong, and no salary is paid based on it.

Other art academics are currently a media artist Eija-Liisa Ahtilaphotographer Carl-Johan (Box) Bremerfilm director Pirjo Honkasaloa dance artist Marjo Kuuselaan architect Juha Leiviskäa writer Hannu Mäkelätextile and fashion artist Vuokko Eskolin-Nurmesniemi and conductor Jorma Panula.

Kirsi Kunnas-Syrjän, Ralf Långbackan mixed Outi Heiskanen there have been eight deceased academicians.

Author: JJ Beat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *